Lifestyle: Rawsome food packed with goodness and flavour

430315_319484538108178_1066815800_nToday I met the gorgeous Anna Middleton who was giving a lecture on nutrition and the benefits of raw food at Amchara’s detox retreat over in Langford Budville, Somerset.

Now I’ve seen people drinking these weird looking drinks and adding things to their smoothies with fancy names like spirulina and had convinced myself it was all just a fad but having listened to Anna for the last couple of hours talking about the importance of superfoods and how easy they are to introduce to your diet, I may well be a convert.

I’ve always loved food and recently took the step of removing meat from my diet and up until meeting my other half, I was managing to keep off dairy too though I have lapsed into the occasional cheese fest when he’s with me at the weekend. One thing I’ve discovered from omitting these things is that food can still be exciting and taste amazing but raw takes things to a whole new level. I’m not suggesting that I’m going to start eating entirely raw but some of what she said makes so much sense and is so easy that it seems silly not to embrace a bit more balance. This all makes my yogic lifestyle (note ahimsa) a heck of a lot more manageable. I learned that Maca is brilliant for bringing on energy – always a bonus for the dynamic ashtanga practice.

I tried a kale salad with a gorgeous dressing and dressed dehydrated kale chips which tasted amazing and her avocado chocolate torte was simply divine.

One great tip she gave was to make sure that we include at least one superfood from freshwater, sea and land sources each day. That means a sprout or grass such as wheatgrass or barley grass, seaweed and spirulina. These can easily be added dried into smoothies or sprinkled into raw desserts so that you don’t even taste them. I feel as though someone just opened the door onto a whole new world.  And the benefits of raw chocolate? 400% more antioxidants than blueberries and that’s just to start. 2 teaspoons a day gives us the magnesium we need and given that 80% of us are magnesium deficient, that’s pretty significant.

The basis of eating raw is actually rooted in scientific fact. Once we start cooking most foods over 42 degrees, they denature and lose their nutrients and by the same token, our bodies don’t like food straight from the fridge. What do we do instead? Dehydrate, pulp and blend. This is much easier for our bodies to digest and makes sure foods retain their goodness and flavour and many recipes are just so darn easy. Check out this arame salad

(Pictured) Cave of Mystery Special – a crunchy case, cashew & ginger cream, beetroot & berry topped with chocolate & chilli – made by Rawsome (www.rawsome.co.uk)

