Lifestyle: Pea, coconut and mint dream soup… mmmm

As a novice cook when it comes to not eating dairy, I often find myself picking up random vegetables in the supermarket and grocer’s and get home wondering what on earth to do with them. With cream out of the question, I turned to coconut milk when deciding what do do about the pile of peas I had shelled in the fridge. I threw a few things together and came up with this. Man, was it yum!


A bowl of fresh (or frozen I suppose) peas

A pint of vegetable bouillon stock

A tin of coconut milk

A bunch of mint

A bunch of garlic chives

Half a red onion

 

Dice and gently fry the onion. Throw in the garlic chives when soft, add the peas and stock, chuck in the tin of coconut milk and mint, add a handful of asparagus, bring to the boil and leave to simmer for 12 minutes gently (add the asparagus later if you prefer it firmer). Drain the saucepan into a blender separating out the asparagus and add it to the bowl once the soup has liquidized. If you want something a bit more substantial, try having it with some brown rice. YUMMMMMM

