Yoga: My hero – the oldest yoga teacher in the world

Master Tao Porchon-Lynch is 93 years old and about to enter the Guinness book of records as the oldest yoga teacher in the world.  And as if being the bendiest living pensioner weren’t enough, she’s still bouncing around on her nimble feet across the ballroom – all in spite of having a hip replacement.  She’s living proof that if we are determined enough, we can achieve anything we want.  Dubbed a living miracle by her doctor, she wisely responds, “A miracle means only to make happen what already exists inside yourself.”

“I’m going to teach yoga until I can’t breathe anymore then I’ll just fly away to the next planet … I just, I love yoga, it brightens my day and makes everybody smile,” Porchon-Lynch said.

On Mondays, Tao teaches classes to a dedicated group of students at a dance studio in Harstdale, a suburb 25 miles outside of New York City. She pushes her students to find their deepest range in asanas and said she holds herself to the same standards.

“My doctor when he did the hip replacement said you won’t be able to do this, you won’t be able to do that. I said I don’t want to know what I won’t be able to do because I don’t believe it.

“So I sent him a photograph in lotus lifting off the ground and he called me the miracle woman. I said it’s no miracle, a miracle means only to see that which is inside of you. If it’s inside, I can do it.”

See the interview with her at The Telegraph I know that I’ll be thinking of her beauty and light when I encourage my own yoga students at my classes in Somerset. Like me, she does love a saucy red dress.

